Trust

With childlike innocence I ran to you
My mind, body and soul yours to mold
Frantically searching for a hand through the door
I learned to trust no more
Whereas once I was innocent and free
Now I am filled with guilt and shame
A wound that cut to the core
I learned to trust no more
A precious gift of this child entrusted to you
A gift opened too early and re-wrapped with tarnished
paper
A life tainted by man’s greed for more
I learned to trust no more
A soul perforated down the middle
Filled with loathing and hate
So she asked what do you need me for?
For I have learned to trust no more

One thought on “Trust

Leave a Reply

