Love and Hate

You who are so innocent
You who are so pure
Show me your heart
Give me your heart
As I have given you mine
You are filled with your own
Self righteous sense of self
Your hypocritical ways
Your cruel and kind nature
Let me hurt you
You who are so glorious
Knowledge of your own charm and wit
A mirror, you own
And self possession
Among your fortunes
You that wreak havoc on my emotions
And claim that you didn’t
Naïve, ignorant yet so
Calculating…manipulative
Machiavellian may I call you?
You whom I love for no
Apparent reason
Tell me why it is
That I can do so
And hate you so much as well?

Leave a Reply

